Theater of the oldest historical event in Umbria, the Corsa dei Ceri, Gubbio strikes tourists for its perched position, for its magnificent medieval buildings, for its alleys and for its views. Gubbio is the guardian of the oldest memory of this region, it is a fundamental part of its identity, as evidenced by the presence of the Ceri in the flag of the Region.
The itinerary begins in Piazza Quaranta Martiri and includes a visit to
Church of San Francesco on the edge of the ancient city, the church was built as a Franciscan settlement in the mid-thirteenth century. It encloses the house of the Spadalonga family from which Francesco took refuge after abandoning his home and his paternal assets.
San Giovanni located at the point where, in the first centuries of the Middle Ages, the hill was occupied again after the end of the Roman settlement on the plain. A curiosity: the church has become famous for being one of the main sets of the Don Matteo fiction in the television series.
Palazzo del Bargello Dating back to the early fourteenth century, it is traditionally referred to as the residence of the Bargello, that is, the magistrate in charge of maintaining public order. In front of the famous Fontana dei Matti.
Piazza Maggiore and Palazzo dei Consoli (external), one of the most beautiful hanging square in Italy, allows an extraordinary view of the valley below. The Palazzo dei Consoli overlooks it, built in the first half of the 14th century to house the city magistrates. Inside the Civic Museum, which houses one of the most important written testimonies of pre-Roman Italy, the Iguvine Tables.
Palazzo Ducale (external) built at the behest of Federico da Montefeltro in the second half of the 1400s in Renaissance style, incorporating pre-existing medieval buildings. Subject of a major restoration, it houses the faithful reconstruction of the duke’s study, made with wooden inlays based on a design by Francesco di Giorgio (the original has been in the Metropolitan Museum of New York since 1939.)
Cathedral dedicated to Saints Mariano and Giacomo, martyrs. Construction on the highest point of the city began at the end of the twelfth century on the initiative of Bishop Bentivolgio and completed in the first half of the following century.
The itinerary can be covered in about 2 hours and 30 minutes (it is possible to adapt the visit time to the needs of the group). The city has lifts to overcome the differences in height of the historic center.
To know more
MUSEUMS (The cost of the guided tour does not cover the entrances to museums)
Palazzo Ducale Museum leads to the Noble Floor, with authentic doors and fireplaces, from the elegant courtyard. Here are kept a collection of paintings and hosted temporary exhibitions. An archaeological area can be visited under the courtyard.
Archaeological Area of the Roman Theater on the site of the Roman city are the remains of the 1st century theater. B.C. A small antiquarium collects the materials recovered during the excavations in the city.
Civic Museum in Palazzo dei Consoli housed since 1909 in the Palazzo dei Consoli, the museum collects, on different floors, materials that illustrate the local history and culture from prehistoric times to the twentieth century.
Basilica of Sant’Ubaldo built at 827 m. on the top of Mount Ingino can be reached in a few minutes by taking the gondola lift at Porta Romana. Built on the site of a previous parish church, it owes its current appearance to the renovation wanted in the 16th century by Eleonora and Elisabetta Gonzaga, Duchess of Urbino. The basilica houses the reliquary with the body of Sant’Ubaldo, bishop of Gubbio in the 12th century and protector of the city. The Corsa dei Ceri is held annually in honor of him.